Information Security Society Switzerland (ISSS)

ISSS Excellence Award 2018

Information security has become a hot topic in our information-based society. Headlines about attacks on websites, malware infiltrating our computers at home or at the office, leaked confidential information, privacy violations or coordinated attacks resembling cyber-war scenarios are commonplace. It is therefore quite understandable that topics for bachelor, master or doctoral theses related to information security are very popular among many students in our higher education institutions. The Information Security Society Switzerland (ISSS) is proud to announce the ISSS Excellence Award as a platform for recognizing the best student theses in this field, and to motivate young researchers and students to invest their talent and dedication in innovative contributions to information security.

The ISSS Excellence Award will be attributed on November 27, 2018 at an ISSS event specifically targeted at students, in Zurich.

About the ISSS Excellence Award

The ISSS is dedicated to promoting knowledge among young academics in information security. It confers its Excellence Award to authors of excellent theses around ICT and Internet security.

Type of excellent work considered
The Award recognizes outstanding bachelor, master or doctoral theses, completed at a Swiss university, ETH Zurich, EPFL, another institute of the ETH Board or at a Swiss university of applied sciences. Master and other theses achieved in the context of “Further Education” at tertiary level (MAS, HF) will not be accepted.

Theses are nominated by the advisors responsible for their supervision and assessment within the aforementioned educational institutions. Self-nomination by authors is not possible. The deadline for nominations is August 31, 2018. Nomination is open to theses completed between August 1, 2017 and July 31, 2018. Only theses by authors who have not yet reached their 35th birthday by the nomination deadline may be considered, and nominated theses must be accessible to the public.

To nominate a thesis, please complete this form by providing the following information:

  • Category of the thesis (Bachelor, Master or Doctoral thesis)
  • Name(s), given name(s) and e-mail address(es) of the author(s)
  • Name, given name and e-mail address of the advisor
  • Name and address of the institution
  • Place, date and signature

The form should be scanned and sent to award(at), together with the PDF of the thesis. Should the attached PDF be too voluminous, then upload it to a popular cloud storage service and provide a link for downloading the PDF. The submitted theses must be in English, French, or German.


The Jury is composed of recognized experts in ICT and Internet security. The Jury may refrain from awarding the prize if it considers that none of the theses submitted meet the requirements.

  • Prof. em. Dr. Bernhard Plattner, ETH Zürich
  • Prof. Dr. Endre Bangerter, BFH
  • Prof. Dr. Srdjan Capkun, ETH Zurich
  • Prof. Dr. Marc Rennhard, ZHAW Winterthur
  • Prof. Dr. Serge Vaudenay, EPF Lausanne
  • Lecturer Angelo Consoli, SUPSI Manno

A maximum of 2 prizes will be awarded, with a total maximum amount of CHF 8,000. The jury specifies the amounts to be awarded for the prizes. If more than one author is involved in a thesis, the award shall be shared equally among them.

Further Information

Please do not hesitate to contact Prof. Dr. Eric Dubuis (eric.dubuis(at) if you need further information or the ISSS secretariat.